Skip to content

Rosa Hubermann

November 18, 2010

kevindooley

Ever met a combination of a truck driver, a German, and an angry old woman? If you haven’t, consider yourself lucky and then start getting prepared to meet Rosa Hubermann. Rosa Hubermann is without a doubt, one of the most interesting characters in the Book Thief, by Markus Zusak. She is quite the character, and will likely teach you some language that your mom won’t want to hear.

Rosa is a very vulgar woman who tends to lash out at others with her incredibly bad language. Her language rivals that of Pfifikus, with one of the biggest trucker mouths in history. She is also strict, but loving, to her adopted daughter, Liesel Meminger. She is loving in a sense that she tries to take care of Liesel, but has a very strict way of doing so, as Liesel found out when she sent a letter to her mom. Rosa is the queen of tough love. Lastly, Rosa has no respect for the rich people who she works for because her clients are always so picky.

In my opinion, Rosa has no real morals. She often releases her anger on Hans or Liesel, normally for no real purpose. I think that Rosa was brought into this book to help bring the book to life, because with her spouting all of that language and showing an interesting relationship with her husband, she starts to become real. That actually makes me wonder why Rosa and Hans are married?

Rosa possibly could’ve became the way she is from some unpleasant childhood experiences, ranging from abuse to neglect. That would explain why she is so rough with Liesel, but still tries to be nice and show the love that she never got. Rosa could also be miserable because Hitler has risen into power, and Rosa might not think that he has anything to contribute to society.

In the book, Rosa Hubermann swears a lot to Liesel and Hans. This reminds me of a bus driver that I use to have. My bus driver would swear from pick up to drop off, until she got fired. Like Rosa, my old bus driver taught her kids some colourful vocabulary.

I think that Rosa will end up getting sent to a concentration camp for being with Hans, who clearly wants nothing to do with Hitler or the Nazi party. I wonder what would happen to Liesel if her adopted parents, Rosa and Hans, did get sent to a concentration camp? I think that Liesel will be alright because she is in the girls Hitler youth.

From → Schoolwork

5 Comments
  1. Trevor,
    Thank-you for writing such an entertaining post. A few of my favourite lines that you’ve written to describe Rosa are “queen of tough love” and “biggest trucker mouth in history”. Your intro was excellent!

    I’ll leave you with a point to consider. You write that Rosa is strict, but loving. She cares for Liesel. Doesn’t that contradict with your statement that follows where you write that she has “no morals”? Morals relate to the principles of right and wrong. While Rosa is harsh, she definitely has ideas that pertain to right and wrong.

    Great post and compelling image!

    • Ha ha! I guess that you’re right there Mrs. D. I guess that I just meant to say that her morals aren’t the best. She does care for Liesel, so she has morals, but just isn’t as respectful, or concerned towards most people. Thanks for catching that.

      Thanks for the positive feedback. I’ve actually got a question to ask you. Out of all the characters that the Idea Hive class has read about, which one of them is your most favorite, and why? They could be your favorite for adding depth, being funny, or just about any other reason.

      Rosa is my favorite, but I also like Rudy. Rudy is always trying to impress Liesel, but he never has any luck. He also adds lots of humor to the mix of the story.

      I think that Rosa and Liesel seem to be the most popular characters, as they are used by many of the Idea Hive students. Who do you think the most overall popular character is?

  2. Trevor,
    My favourite character is the narrator, Death. Why? Because when I first read this book, he shocked me. He is sarcastic, has a great sense of humour, caring and….tired. I loved how Zusak made him into a character with feelings. His gentle nature when he takes a soul brings is comforting. When we meet our maker, we won’t be alone.

    • Thank you for taking the time to reply and answer my question Mrs. D. I think that Death tells the story in a very unique way. As long as this answer won’t affect our reading of the book, please let me know. Why does Death love colours so much? I think that he likes seeing colours that keep his existance more bright and cheery.

  3. Your writing has become quite visual and entertaining to read. It brings the story to life…like you’re actually there with the characters as you’re telling it. This is a very good skill which I encourage you to grow and develop. Great Job Trevor!

Leave a Reply

