Skip to content

Poetry

May 13, 2011

Where I’m From

By Trevor

Tony Duckles

I am from Baby-Bottle-Pops, and Fun-Dips.
I am from Tonka Trucks, Hotwheels,
and mini sticks in the living room,
with the scratches and dents,
that remind me of my dad’s old guitar.

I am from Lego, K’nex, and my parents’ instruments.
I am from hockey greats,
like Crosby and Kessel.

I am from Mighty Machines and Mythbusters.
I am from The Fire Within,
and from phrases like
“Right On! (with a big thumbs up)”,
and  “The goings are good!”

I am from the days of rock-stars and astronauts.
Of Hedly and Hilary Duff.

I am from the foundations of Guns’N’Roses and Black Sabbath.
And AC/DC and The Who.
I am from the skills of heroes like Slash and Tony Iommi.
And from Angus Young and Pete Townshend.

I am of the books that my grandmother has kept for me,
generation after generation of my family tree,
have all been saved,
with each page waiting for me.

The last paragraph explanation:
My grandmother has been keeping a big book of the family tree, on both sides of my dad’s family, for maybe the last 50 or more years (with people well before that time in the book). It has pictures, and “stats” (ie:age, birth, gender, kids, siblings.etc.). She keeps the books so everyone in our family can see who everyone is, and she has kept the books in mint condition, so I can see them when I please (ie: they were waiting for me).

From → Schoolwork

3 Comments
  1. Trevor,
    This post starts off powerfully with a unique image of a guitar taken from an original perspective. Good job finding this. Your originality continues as you use italics throughout your poem, punctuating the importance of what’s meaningful to you. Your reference to “old school” musical greats shows your connection with your dad, and mutual love of good music. The last paragraph is very powerful. I hope you share this with your grandmother! 🙂

  2. For me, Trevor, your poem gives me a very vivid image of what you must have been like as a young child. I see a creative boy, playing on the floor with his trucks and toys, building with lego and K’nex, never wanting to dismantle his ‘creations’, even when he has run out of pieces! Your poem makes me realize how very important history and family is to you. Awesome job, Trevor!

  3. I feel this is among the such a lot important info for me. And i am satisfied studying your article. However want to commentary on some general issues, The web site taste is perfect, the articles is in point of fact great :D. Excellent task, cheers.

Leave a Reply

