Skip to content

Last Few Days At Turnberry; The School Of Opportunities!

July 4, 2011

The Last Week

 

Well, a whole year has past, and now I must go off to high school. I’m incredibly saddened about this, as my last two years at Turnberry have just been amazing. I will deeply miss the little school. Here I will post my final post as a student from Turnberry (I’ll still post, but I’ll be in high school).

Monday, June 27, 2011:

Today Is the day that I graduate. It is my last official day of grade eight. I went to school for most of the day, but had to leave to get ready for grad night. First there were pictures, then supper (good thing supper was after because I stained my tuxedo). After dinner, I was time for the graduation, followed by the awards ceremony. At grad, I was Valedictorian, which I was very honored about. Everyone said that I did a great speech. After the ceremony drew to a close, the graduates went to an after party, where I showed off my mad guitar skills ; ) It was the most amazing day of my life. You’ll never forget the tremendous amount of pride, and happiness that fills you during this time.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011:

Although few of the new miner-niners came to school today, It was still very entertaining. There was an orienteering course that the new 8/9 class gave to the grade 7s. Using a compass, they had to find specific checkpoints, and then answer a trivia question at that station (the questions were designed to help ready them for Mrs. Durnin‘s class the next year. One question asked for the name of the book that the class had published) . If the team got it wrong, the the people running the station had to make the team doing anything they wanted (school appropriate of course; no licking the dirt, or eating worms). My station made a group do a dance off contest with another station leader. Nothing topped that.

I also brought in my guitar and played some songs, including two originals. The class really enjoyed it.

Taken by my teacher, hdurnin

Wednesday, June 29, 2011:

The last day at school. I was a very sad day for me. I had to say goodbye to my favorite school. We (the class) watched to movie “Dear John”, and brought in pop and other snacks to eat. I played a game of volleyball, and my friend and I would do little dance moves like “the geek/charlie brown”, “the sprinkler”, and “crazy legs” whenever someone would serve the ball. Then came the hardest part of the school year; saying goodbye to all the teachers, and students. After everyone said their farewells, we got onto the buses, and watched to teachers do cartwheels.

And that pretty much sums up the last week of school at Turnberry. I really hope that the IdeaHive (currently undergoing a remake at the time of this post) keeps up all the great work.

From → Schoolwork

3 Comments
  1. What a wonderful reflection, Trevor. I’m glad to read that you’ll continue to post here. I for one, will subscribe to your RSS feed in order to stay updated on your posts.
    A word of advice – while you’ll grow as a writer, always be proud of the work you’ve posted here in your gr. 8 year. I am.
    Mrs. D.

    • Thank you Mrs. D. I’m glad that you liked it. I plan on trying to make at least one post a month to keep up my writing, and then in high school, I’ll try to post some projects. I’ll also be putting in stuff about my music in here. What would you like to see me post about?

  2. Hey Trevor! I really enjoyed reading your post, i loved all of it! One of my favorite parts is when you said you stained your tuxedo!! Haha sorry but thats hilarious! The last day was sad for everyone who came, because it was the last time we would see them untill two years (unless you come visit them with me)! I hope you do amazing in highschool, and maybe i’ll see you in the halls or in the band!
    Kassie

Leave a Reply

