Skip to content

Back In Time, To World War One

June 17, 2011

Back In Time, To World War One

 

On June 16, 1915 (2011), the grade 7/8 class from Turnberry Central went off to fight in the war. Mr. Robin Barker-James led the class through the life of a soldier fighting in the trenches of World War One. Mr. Barker-James is a history teacher who lives in Tillsonburg, and, with the help of his grade ten students, has dug trenches on his farm, so that students can come and have this experience. Over 71, 000 students have come to his trenches. He also had a display of artifacts, such as knives, guns, grenades, bombs, and helmets (which never seemed to stay on my head nicely). Mr. Barker-James showed us how to fight with grenades, and how to survive a bayonet fight.

turnberryps

After the basic training, he showed us his artifacts, we ate, and then prepared ourselves for the war. Mr. Barker gave each German soldier (the boys) 3-4 lives and positions, and gave the Canadians (the girls) around 8 lives.

hdurnin

The trenches were brutal.

Well, it probably can’t get much hotter out, and the bugs probably shouldn’t eat me, yet. I guess that the only two things to worry about are the Canadians, and dying of boredom. Nothing is more boring than lying down in a muddy trench, waiting for the enemy. Might as well check my equipment while I wait. 2 stick grenades left, 1 Mauser rifle, with a bayonet attached, and 30 more rounds. I sure hope that I can get some more grenades soon. Those beauties have saved my life so many times. Oh, it’s soo hot out. I wish the Canadians would come already. Oh no! I think I heard the enemy. Better get ready. Here they are. Wait, they can’t see me. Should I stay? Of course. I’ll just toss in my last to grenades and shoot the rest out. There goes half their men, and now I just gotta line up the Lewis gunner, and……Wait……No!!!!! A grenade!!!! Good luck my comrades.

drakegoodman

Thanks to Robin, I now have a first hand look at what the trench warfare was like. I think that the big thing that I got out of this trip is that war is pointless, and many men (and women) die needlessly. Battle is brutal, as the use of mustard gas has many terrible effects. It practically eats you alive. I also saw that battle is full of confusion, noise, and boredom. As the great Robin Barker-James would say, “If I’m told that I have to go to war, or that my kids have to go to war, then there had better be a darn good reason!”

hdurnin slideshow of the day

From → Schoolwork

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment